Text Size
Sunday, December 21, 2014

Website started and updated by faculty and students of Cal Poly Pomona's College of Environmental Design: Department of Architecture.

"A sustainable online forum for students

and young professionals of design."

Blog Content
Software Autodesk Vasari
 

Autodesk Vasari Hot

Vasari is a great newish product from Autodesk that is FREE and provides solar radiation, solar path, airflow, and energy simulation for very conceptual designs.

User reviews

Average user rating from: 21 user(s)

To write a review please register or log in.
Overall rating 
 
8.5
Ease of Use  
 
8.2  (21)
Complexity of Results  
 
8.4  (21)
Clarity of Graphics  
 
8.1  (21)
Accuracy  
 
7.8  (21)
Cost 
 
9.9  (21)
 
Autodesk Vasari 2011-06-06 10:52:27 abcartwright
Overall rating 
 
8.0
Ease of Use  
 
6.0
Complexity of Results  
 
9.0
Clarity of Graphics  
 
8.0
Accuracy  
 
7.0
Cost 
 
10.0
abcartwright Reviewed by abcartwright    June 06, 2011
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews

Energy Calcs Good Modeling Bad

Vasari is a very interesting program the interface is very similar to Revit. The Energy Calculation and simulations are very helpful, however the modeling of vasari is still very hard to use. Massing needs to be improved and ability to use other file formats to use as mass models would be helpful. Overall a good program for energy modeling.

Was this review helpful to you? 
20
Report this review
Autodesk Vasari 2011-06-04 18:16:10 ponce
Overall rating 
 
9.6
Ease of Use  
 
10.0
Complexity of Results  
 
10.0
Clarity of Graphics  
 
9.0
Accuracy  
 
9.0
Cost 
 
10.0
ponce Reviewed by ponce    June 04, 2011
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews

Even better than Revit !

Project Vasari is the perfect design tool for creating concept models. It is fully compatible with Revit. Vasari offers the same easy-to-use modeling functionality as in the full blown Revit and the interface is very similar... so there is no need to learn a new software!!! Your designs can be analysed using the built-in energy modeling and analysis features, which is extremely helpful when trying to design sustainable buildings. The installation itself virtually only takes a minute and the best part is that you don't have to install the software in order to use it. The quick start video tutorials are essential to kick start your Vasari experience. If you are scared of Revit (like me).. then Vasari is the perfect start for you.

Was this review helpful to you? 
11
Report this review
Autodesk Vasari 2011-06-05 12:14:12 danflores
Overall rating 
 
9.0
Ease of Use  
 
10.0
Complexity of Results  
 
9.0
Clarity of Graphics  
 
7.0
Accuracy  
 
9.0
Cost 
 
10.0
danflores Reviewed by danflores    June 05, 2011
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews

Great program as introduction to Revit and as an E

Vasari is a great program that is perfect as an introduction to Revit for people who might be comfortable with programs like SketchUp or Rhino. The ease with which we can model designs in Vasari and then introduce them to Revit to take these designs in to a more realistic model is what really makes this program great. Another great aspect of Vasari is its ability to take your simple model and allow you to analyze its energy use and allow you to compare different variations of your model. Overall it's a great program and I look forward to seeing how they develop it further over the next few years.

Was this review helpful to you? 
10
Report this review
Autodesk Vasari 2011-06-08 00:28:06 itzortega
Overall rating 
 
8.6
Ease of Use  
 
8.0
Complexity of Results  
 
8.0
Clarity of Graphics  
 
10.0
Accuracy  
 
7.0
Cost 
 
10.0
itzortega Reviewed by itzortega    June 08, 2011
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews

Project Visari Version 1.0

This software allows for quick analysis data that is fairly accurate for initial analysis for both the site and the actual structure. The workability of the program to create complex shapes is accurate and versatile, something borrowed form Revit that comes in handy; however the availability of different kinds of materials is limited. Overall the graphics displayed from looking at the specific data and structure is incredibly useful and sets precedence that allows one to work off from until generating a working model both realistically and spatially. Lastly the cost of the program is affordable for the struggling student in need to analyze the model quickly and efficiently: FREE.

Was this review helpful to you? 
10
Report this review
Autodesk Vasari 2011-06-05 11:23:42 Michelle Lee
Overall rating 
 
8.4
Ease of Use  
 
7.0
Complexity of Results  
 
9.0
Clarity of Graphics  
 
8.0
Accuracy  
 
8.0
Cost 
 
10.0
Michelle Lee Reviewed by Michelle Lee    June 05, 2011
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews

Vasari Reivew

Autodesk Vasari is a tool directed toward conceptual massing and analysis. It is fairly easy to use for simple forms and geometries. However, its 3D modeling capabilities is not the most intuitive compared to other softwares. Aside from conceptual massing, the Energy Analysis tool is a great way to test the performance of a building regarding heating, cooling, energy efficiency, etc. It provides hard data that is easily comparable. The graphs and charts are pretty easy to read with a great range of information. Also the Energy Analysis seems to have more weather stations for more accurate results. Varsari is also free for students.







Was this review helpful to you? 
10
Report this review
Autodesk Vasari 2012-01-31 02:21:46 adilenec
Overall rating 
 
8.4
Ease of Use  
 
9.0
Complexity of Results  
 
8.0
Clarity of Graphics  
 
9.0
Accuracy  
 
6.0
Cost 
 
10.0
adilenec Reviewed by adilenec    January 31, 2012
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews

Vasari Review

Autodesk Vasari is easy to use for conceptual design. The various climate study tools are easy to navigate and the results give you the ability to compare different analysis side by side. The program itself is set up similar to Revit, making it easy to use between programs. It is easier to model in Vasari than it is in Ecotect. However, sometimes the results seem to be off. There is also limited materials to choose from when analyzing energy performance. Overall we would recommend Vasari to all users, especially students using it as a initial design tool.

Was this review helpful to you? 
10
Report this review
Autodesk Vasari 2014-03-18 00:07:58 nvazquez
Overall rating 
 
8.2
Ease of Use  
 
9.0
Complexity of Results  
 
8.0
Clarity of Graphics  
 
7.0
Accuracy  
 
7.0
Cost 
 
10.0
nvazquez Reviewed by nvazquez    March 18, 2014
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews

Enhances Projects

This is a great program for those trying to increase the efficiency of their project. Vasari also has the power to make amazing graphics and visuals that can further enhance a project's viability in it's argument towards sustainability. Overall a powerful tool for those looking to make their project more efficient.

Was this review helpful to you? 
10
Report this review
Autodesk Vasari 2012-02-13 23:39:39 eylyana
Overall rating 
 
7.8
Ease of Use  
 
8.0
Complexity of Results  
 
6.0
Clarity of Graphics  
 
9.0
Accuracy  
 
6.0
Cost 
 
10.0
eylyana Reviewed by eylyana    February 13, 2012
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews

Windtunnel

The Windtunnel in Vasari is a piece of cake compared to Winair in ecotect. There are less glitches and you don't have to turn your computer back in time (the only complication I ever faced with Vasari was getting the voxel size correctly, but it was easy to get a hang of). It also has much nicer graphics thank Winair, with many options for changing the display. I find it helpful that the interface is similar to Revit and it is convenient that you can import from Revit, as I prefer to model in Revit and import into Vasari.

Was this review helpful to you? 
10
Report this review
Autodesk Vasari 2012-02-13 07:56:50 Brice Colton
Overall rating 
 
7.6
Ease of Use  
 
6.0
Complexity of Results  
 
7.0
Clarity of Graphics  
 
8.0
Accuracy  
 
7.0
Cost 
 
10.0
Brice Colton Reviewed by Brice Colton    February 13, 2012
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews

Useful Simulation Software, Poor for Design

Vasari 2.1 is basically a mash-up of Revit's conceptual modeling and Ecotect's climate analysis. The integration of the two programs is done fairly well, although the Wind Tunnel feature could use a new interface. I cannot speak to the accuracy of the analysis, but at this point Vasari still warns the user that its results are only preliminary. Conceptual modeling is just like Revit's: usable, but not nearly as easy to use as, say, Sketchup is.

That said, Vasari has some points in its favor. The program is very compatible with Revit—to the point of using the same file format, the lighting analysis is great, and Vasari is free.

Personally, I would never use Vasari as a design tool, but I would use it during the design phase of a project to do preliminary environmental analysis. I would also like to see the analytical parts of the program fully integrated into Revit, and not packaged into a separate program.

Was this review helpful to you? 
10
Report this review
Autodesk Vasari 2012-01-28 08:08:42 Hiori675
Overall rating 
 
7.4
Ease of Use  
 
6.0
Complexity of Results  
 
7.0
Clarity of Graphics  
 
6.0
Accuracy  
 
8.0
Cost 
 
10.0
Hiori675 Reviewed by Hiori675    January 28, 2012
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews

Vasari Review

Autodesk Vasari is an interesting program that combines the ease of Autodesk Revit massing and the energy analysis of Ecotect. One of the major flaws with Ecotect is the difficulty to model buildings while using that program, Vasari has simplified much of the model building process into simple massing solutions. While this program is useful for simple studies, there is a sudden jump in difficulty when using more complex models or customized window placement/sizes. Other problems encountered during the use of this program is the necessity to connect to Autodesk online. If the current location does not provide internet access or security settings are flawed in the firewall, the program will not be able to perform any analysis of the models. Vasari is still a new program with many bugs that may affect the users experience, however it shows a promising future within the use of BIM and sustainable design.

Was this review helpful to you? 
10
Report this review
Autodesk Vasari 2014-02-03 00:09:44 adawu
Overall rating 
 
9.2
Ease of Use  
 
8.0
Complexity of Results  
 
10.0
Clarity of Graphics  
 
10.0
Accuracy  
 
8.0
Cost 
 
10.0
adawu Reviewed by adawu    February 03, 2014
Top 100 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews

Very nice tool for preliminary design

This program is very good for preliminary design as the the various solar radiation, wind, and energy analysis helps with site analysis and various orientation and massing designs. The various charts, graphs and report this program produces is quite amazing. Detail break down and analysis of its energy consumption and intake are enhanced by the programs Vasari is linked with (green building studio and design review. It is very easy to use and can be integrated with revit. However as it is a beta software, it crashes a lot and sometimes it seems to be unable to handle it's own program. Various revit integration and design options are still not there yet. Can see great potential in this program.

Was this review helpful to you? 
00
Report this review
Autodesk Vasari 2011-06-02 15:46:25 kimhoancop
Overall rating 
 
9.0
Ease of Use  
 
8.0
Complexity of Results  
 
8.0
Clarity of Graphics  
 
9.0
Accuracy  
 
10.0
Cost 
 
10.0
kimhoancop Reviewed by kimhoancop    June 02, 2011
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews

it makes my life much easier

I've been using this software for two quarters at CPP, and I would say that I am very addicted to it. The more I use it, the more i learn about it. The thing that i like most about this software is that It creates both plans and sections for you at the same time. The rendering might not be as good as 3DS Max, but you can export revit files as 3DS Max files and do renderings there. :)

Was this review helpful to you? 
00
Report this review
Autodesk Vasari 2011-06-05 21:43:55 bgall2009
Overall rating 
 
9.0
Ease of Use  
 
8.0
Complexity of Results  
 
9.0
Clarity of Graphics  
 
9.0
Accuracy  
 
9.0
Cost 
 
10.0
bgall2009 Reviewed by bgall2009    June 05, 2011
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews

Project Vasari

This is a good program to use when trying to analyze different sustainablity items that can be incorporated into your building. It is easy to use, once you get the hang of it, and is comparable to Google's Sketchup program. It is also a good way to learn the basics of Autodesk's Revit program because they run very similar.

Was this review helpful to you? 
01
Report this review
Autodesk Vasari 2014-03-17 11:46:21 muro_anakaren14
Overall rating 
 
9.0
Ease of Use  
 
8.0
Complexity of Results  
 
10.0
Clarity of Graphics  
 
7.0
Accuracy  
 
10.0
Cost 
 
10.0
muro_anakaren14 Reviewed by muro_anakaren14    March 17, 2014
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews

Very Easy, and Basic

Vasari is good to produce a generic analysis, very basic. For example, if you have a mass, you can analyze solar radiation, wind analysis, Sun Path ect. Some things are counter intuitive, like creating a void--instead of extruding/pushing in, as you would in other programs, you actually need create a form and then "create a void form". You cannot analyse actual buildings--like those imported from revit--but luckily the same Analysis is available in Revit.

Was this review helpful to you? 
00
Report this review
Autodesk Vasari 2011-05-23 11:33:27 jlin
Overall rating 
 
8.8
Ease of Use  
 
8.0
Complexity of Results  
 
10.0
Clarity of Graphics  
 
8.0
Accuracy  
 
8.0
Cost 
 
10.0
jlin Reviewed by jlin    May 23, 2011
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews

test

test

Was this review helpful to you? 
00
Report this review
Autodesk Vasari 2011-06-05 22:35:34 Ana de la Torre
Overall rating 
 
8.6
Ease of Use  
 
9.0
Complexity of Results  
 
9.0
Clarity of Graphics  
 
7.0
Accuracy  
 
8.0
Cost 
 
10.0
Ana de la Torre Reviewed by Ana de la Torre    June 05, 2011
Top 100 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews

Simple to Use

Autodesk Vasari is a tool directed toward conceptual massing and analysis. It is super easy to use because it is a lot like Revit so there is no need to learn a new software.It's free for students which is great! The analysis gets done quickly and is extremely accurate thanks to the wide variety of weather stations to choose from. However, you have to have some back ground in reading sustainability charts and what they mean to understand the results.

Was this review helpful to you? 
00
Report this review
Autodesk Vasari 2014-03-22 21:41:47 crazari
Overall rating 
 
8.6
Ease of Use  
 
9.0
Complexity of Results  
 
7.0
Clarity of Graphics  
 
10.0
Accuracy  
 
7.0
Cost 
 
10.0
crazari Reviewed by crazari    March 22, 2014
Top 100 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews

Vasari: easy, useful, but could be better.

The outright advantage of this program is that it's built on a watered down revit platform. Vasari utilizes a more limited but similar interface as Revit and the rvt file type which allows a user to move between the two programs with ease. However, there is a strong need for this mobility because you'll want to do as much modeling as possible in Revit. In my view, Vasari Beta 3.0 still has some unresolved issues with its modeling capabilities which can lead to some frustration. The strong suit of this software is that it provides clear and graphically pleasing environmental analysis. In particular, the solar radiation and wind tunnel analysis tools stood out as being effective.

Was this review helpful to you? 
00
Report this review
Autodesk Vasari 2011-06-08 22:49:48 thewarrior05
Overall rating 
 
8.4
Ease of Use  
 
9.0
Complexity of Results  
 
8.0
Clarity of Graphics  
 
7.0
Accuracy  
 
8.0
Cost 
 
10.0
thewarrior05 Reviewed by thewarrior05    June 08, 2011
Top 100 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews

quick design and great analyzation

I first download Project Vasari in the winter and didnt find much use for it. But after using it in the spring for the 203 project i finally understood its capabilities. After modeling your project in revit or even in Vasari, you are able to run many sets of tests on the building, including energy and fuel use, heat loss, etc. I was really surprised what Vasari could do especially because it is a free program. I think of it as a quick design tool which allows you to analyze your project, and import your creation into revit to bring in the more structural and detail aspect of your project.

Was this review helpful to you? 
00
Report this review
Autodesk Vasari 2014-02-06 08:04:52 tulsianey
Overall rating 
 
8.4
Ease of Use  
 
9.0
Complexity of Results  
 
8.0
Clarity of Graphics  
 
8.0
Accuracy  
 
8.0
Cost 
 
9.0
tulsianey Reviewed by tulsianey    February 06, 2014
Top 100 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews

Autodesk Vasari Software Review

Vasari is an easy software to use use with an interface similar to Revit but less complicated. The solar radiation and the wind direction study are extremely useful tools which can give the designer useful information at the beginning of the project. The energy analysis is also a great technique to get accurate results. On the down side the software need to be more stable. A lot of times you are not able to save your model or the program closes u unexpectedly.Overall a user friendly software great for energy analysis of the building.

Was this review helpful to you? 
00
Report this review
Autodesk Vasari 2014-03-18 19:47:45 jimmyusa4
Overall rating 
 
8.0
Ease of Use  
 
8.0
Complexity of Results  
 
8.0
Clarity of Graphics  
 
9.0
Accuracy  
 
6.0
Cost 
 
9.0
jimmyusa4 Reviewed by jimmyusa4    March 18, 2014
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews

Vasari

Vasari is a very good program, it can calculate and simulate energy uses, sun path, lighting, and wind path. Since this program is from autodesk there should be a consistency on importing Revit model to Vasari. I find the wind study is not 100% accurate. When I compare the wind result with NASA result I found a total different result.

Was this review helpful to you? 
00
Report this review
Autodesk Vasari 2011-06-05 10:34:43 levyminemann
Overall rating 
 
7.6
Ease of Use  
 
8.0
Complexity of Results  
 
8.0
Clarity of Graphics  
 
4.0
Accuracy  
 
8.0
Cost 
 
10.0
levyminemann Reviewed by levyminemann    June 05, 2011
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews

Vasari eco analysis

The great thing about Vasari is that it is free to students which gives it a big plus. On the down side the programs sustainable graphics make it quit difficult to understand what is really going on. Many students who used the Vasari graphics on their posters had no idea how to explain to the jury what was going on much less did the jury understand the graphic. In this sense I think it needs major improvement,graphics are meant to project ideas or info clearly to the viewer, Vasari's graphics need a manual to understand them. Overall the program works good and provides a good base for initial sustainable design.

Was this review helpful to you? 
00
Report this review
 
Powered by JReviews